Minutes for Texas Association for Bilingual Education (TABE)

Call to Order

• An Executive Board meeting of TABE was held on 9/13/23 via zoom. It began at 5:08 pm and was presided over by Dr. Xochilt Anabel Rocha.

Attendees

- Members in attendance included President-Dr. Xóchitl Anabel Rocha, Past President-Dr. Olivia Hernández, Treasurer-Dr. Claudia Treviño García, Secretary-Altagracia "Grace" Delgado, Parliamentarian-Dr. Laurie Weaver, Legislative Rep.-Hugo Hernández, Parent Rep.-Blanca Gálvez Pérez, IPD-Dr. Rolando A. Merchán, Publications & Archives Chair-Dr. Josie Tinajero, Newsletter Chair-Dr. Lileana Rios-Ledezma, Higher Education Chair-Dr. Joy Esquierdo, Vice President-Dr. Lizbeth Garza-García, Public Relations-David Nungaray
- Member in attendance: Executive Director, Ms. Karina Chapa, María Alvarado
- Board members absent: BESO Rep.-Aneth Jimenez, Bilingual ESL Rep.-Dr. Susana Franco-Fuenmayor

Approval of Minutes

• Minutes presented by secretary Grace Delgado. Motion to approve minutes by secretary Grace Delgado; seconded by Karina Chapa. Motion passed after voting with 8 yes, and 0 no.

Officers' Reports

• Treasurer report by Dr. Claudia Treviño García, and Ms. Karina Chapa. Budget report review.

Other Reports

• Executive Director's report by Karina Chapa.

Main Motions

- A. Motion for TABE to sponsor IDRA 50th banquet for \$1500 for the photo booth and 2 tickets made by Karina Chapa and seconded by Joy Esquierdo. Yes:11/No:0.
- B. Motion to Accept Coastal Bend ABE and West Texas ABE as affiliates made by Karina Chapa and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:12/No:0.
- C. Motion to make editorial changes to the constitution made by Laurie Weaver and seconded by Liz Gaza-García. Yes:13/No:0.
- D. Motion to make date changes to the constitution made by Laurie Weaver and seconded by Liz Gaza-García. Yes:12/No:0.
- E. Motion to change Rule 5 regarding Nomination and Election of Board Members made by Laurie Weaver and seconded by Liz Gaza-García. Yes:11/No:0.
- F. Motion to change bylaws location in the constitution made by Laurie Weaver and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:11/No:0.
- G. Motion to approve Awards for elementary teacher of the year, secondary teacher of the year and undergrad student as presented by IPD Chair made by Rolando Merchán and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:11/No:0.
- H. Motion to approve Awards for public education and community advocate as presented by IPD Chair made by Rolando Merchán and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:10/No:0.
- I. Motion to award Dr. Rudy Rodriguez for higher education award made by Lileana Rios-Ledesma and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:11/No:0.

- J. Motion that for dissertation awards to be considered they must be from Texas schools made by Joy Esquierdo and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:10/No:0.
- K. ONLINE MOTION-Motion for the TABE Board to approve the top three winners for the Dissertation Award submitted by the Higher Ed Committee, made by Joy Esquierdo and seconded by Josie Tinajero. Yes:13/No:0.
- L. ONLINE MOTION-Motion to award the TABE Graduate Scholarship to Lorenza Holloway made by Rolando Merchán and seconded by Hugo Hernández. Yes:9/No:0.

Announcements

None

Adjournment

• Dr. Xochitl Anabel Rocha moved that the meeting be adjourned at 7:28pm.

Altagracia H. Delgado	10/11/23
Secretary	Date of Approval
2023 TABE Executive Board	